Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,981   Posts: 1,523,823   Online: 1201

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

film for alt processes

I am a newbie at this and was wondering what films would be good for 19th century processes such as salt prints ,cyanotypes,albumen prints,platinum/palladium and such

thanks for any info zgan

Shooter
    Large Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    You can't go wrong starting with Ilford FP4+. I also like Fomapan 200 (Arista.EDU Ultra 200) from Freestyle Photo for alt process printing.

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by zgan View Post
    I am a newbie at this and was wondering what films would be good for 19th century processes such as salt prints ,cyanotypes,albumen prints,platinum/palladium and such

thanks for any info zgan
    You need a film that can be developed to a very high contrast. Albumen and salted paper, for example, like negatives with a DR as high as 2.3 - 2.5, palladium needs about 1.7 - 1.9.

Assuming you want to work in LF sheet film, and use a film with ASA of 100 or higher, your choice at this time is Ilford FP4+, Kodak TMAX-400, or Efke (Adox) PL-100. I don't know the Fomapan 200 and can not comment on its characteristics.

You might also want to consider using a pyro staining developer. These processes are exposed with UV light sourcs and stain is highly actinic, meaning that you can often pull more contrast out of a film with a pyro staining developer than with non-staining ones.

Sandy King

Shooter
    8x10 Format
    Images
    For my own work I use for years TXP Kodak developed in ABC Pyro.
    I contact print palladium, platinum/palladium or Azo
    Results on my web site.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Sandy & Scott can correct me on this but one to stay away from for processes that require UV light exposures would be Tmax-100.