Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,990   Posts: 1,524,190   Online: 1131

Shooter
    8x10 Format
    Images

What causes stubborn clearing in PtPd?

Every once in a while, like this evening, I wind up working on a PtPd print that is just stubborn about clearing.

Tonight I tried everything I had in the house: EDTA and Sodium Sulfite; Citric Acid; Oxalic Acid; HCA 1:4, 1:2 and 1:1. This print would not clear. If I had had some muriatic, I would have tried that, but didn't have any. All the earlier prints this evening were clear in seconds in the first bath.

What contributes to tough clearing? Paper too dry at exposure? Long exposures? Too much heat in drying? What experiences have you had?

Neal

JLP
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Neal, Although i have very little experience so far (Working on changing that)
    Are you using any Oxalic Acid in your Ferric oxalate?
    When i mixed my Ferric oxalate i used Dick Arentz mix on page 32 in the second edition. 15g ferric Ox, 1g Ox Acid and 55ml water.
    I have not had any clearing problems even in a pretty alcaline first clearing bath of EDTA and Sodium Sulfite (Did not have test strips when i started) Thanks to Clay i now keep it at about 6.5 Prints cleared in less than minute.

jan

Shooter
    8x10 Format
    Images
    Hi Jan
    I use a little EDTA when I mix my Ferric per the B&S instructions. I will re-read page 32 and try the Oxalic to see if that helps.
    Thanks,
    Neal

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images
    Hi Neal,
    Try this. Lime away household product. 1 part lime away/ 8 part of water. TT

Shooter
    ULarge Format
    Neal,

I use 2g of ox and .75g EDTA in my FO. The rest of the formula is the same.

The OX will change the speed of the FO considerably, so you will need to re calibrate your speed point after making a change like that.