Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,646   Posts: 1,481,265   Online: 746

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Advice need on contact printing frames

Hi all...

Before I order a frame I wanted to run some things by y'all...

I'm a beginner at alt processes and will be starting with VDB or argyrotype, and would like to eventually print pt/pd, mostly in small sizes to start (4x5, 5x7, etc). Should I just get an 8x10 frame or should I go one size larger at 11x14? Would the 11x14 be ok for small print sizes as well or is there something I should know?

Right now, the B&S frames look good to me, so I'm leaning in that direction.

Any advice is greatly appreciated...

Shooter
    Large Format
    Went through the same thoughts and bought a couple of cheap small ones off ebay.

My rationale was that the very large ones *might* be a fiddle to put your relatively small 4x5 neg in the right place to be able to open up the back and look at your developing print (I do cyanotype where this is pretty usual, dunno about pt/pd). Havent yet moved up in format past 5x7, and not planning to get into internegatives as yet so Im still pottering happily with what I have.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I would recommend you go with the largest size you are ever likely to use. I decided on a 10x12 frame because I knew I would not venture beyond the 8x10 format. I like a white border around the image that's why I chose the 10x12 frame. You should also consider the need for extra space around the image for handling reasons in case of damage, trimming for presentation, etc.

If decisions like finance, storage, etc., is not an issue then a range of frame sizes is certainly an option.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images