Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,836   Posts: 1,582,413   Online: 907

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Large Format

Van Dyke process

Hi. I'm brand new here at this site. And I'm brand new to alternative processes. I want to try the Van Dyke process first. I have read the article by Wynn White but it assumes somethings I've not learned yet. I would love to hear from you, especially about applying the emulsion to paper. I have some Archer water color paper I was going to try it out on. Thanks in advance.
    Eston Mansfield

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Eston,

Both the Unblinking Eye and Alternative Photography sites are good sources for information and "how to" articles. There is an article on methods for coating paper here .

I used to do quite a bit of Van Dyke printing and tried both a rod and a hake brush. I settled on using the brush. The easiest way to learn to do it is just to do it. It really is easy to make a print. Consistently getting good prints is a bit harder but learning how to do it is part of the fun.

There are several people here on APUG who are experienced in Van Dyke printing. The articles on the other sites are a good starting point but, for specific questions, I am sure you will find help here.

Dan
    Daniel Williams
    Enumclaw WA USA

Shooter
    Large Format
    I've printed my own fair share on Van Dyke prints.. I can tell you what worked for me.
    I started with cyanotype, but honestly they aren't that similar. What worked for me with cyanotypes didn't work well for van dykes.

I use Crane's Kid Finish Ecru White stationary paper. $11 for a box. Once I tried this I stopped looking for any other paper.

I use a cheap 1" flat watercolor brush to apply the solution. $6 at an arts and crafts store, works perfectly fine.