Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,557   Posts: 1,545,132   Online: 1088

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

What is Sally Mann doing in "What Remains" documentary, at around 13:15?

Since I'm self-taught in photography (and particular in darkroom work), I find it fascinating when I'm able to see what (and how) other people work.

I've seen the online version of "What Remains" documentary on Sally Mann, as linked here, and some time around 13:15 (that's thirteen minutes and fifteen seconds) into the documentary, there's a sequence showing her mixing some goo in a plastic bucket (using funny-looking gloves), pouring it on a print, coating the print with it, etc...

What's she doing there, exactly? What kind of process is that?
    Thanks for any explanations...

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images
    She appears to be toning the print.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Looks like she is toning print too me also.

Jeff

Shooter
    8x10 Format
    It's varnish.
    www.gregorytdavis.com

Did millions of people suddenly disappear? This may have an answer.

"No one knows that day or hour, not even the angels in heaven, nor the Son, but only the Father." -Matthew 24:36

Shooter
    ULarge Format
    Images
    Sandarac varnish to be precise. It has lavender oil in it. Smells great when you varnish. Varnishing is the final step in the wet plate collodion process. Its used on tintypes, ambrotypes and glass plate negatives.
    Last edited by RobertP; 10-08-2009 at 01:39 PM. Click to view previous post history.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by RobertP View Post
    Varnishing is the final step in the wet plate collodion process. Its used on tintypes, ambrotypes and glass plate negatives.