Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,223   Posts: 1,532,527   Online: 1099
      
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Serbia, Belgrade
    Shooter
    35mm
    Posts
    47

    F100+Efke IR820 problem

    I tried to insert this IR film into camera but my F100 acts like there is no film inside. Again I tried with normal film and it works just fine. What can be the problem?
    Thanks.

  2. #2
    colrehogan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Shooter
    Large Format Pan
    Posts
    2,016
    Blog Entries
    3
    Images
    16
    Do you have the camera set up to detect auto ISO? I have shot this film with my F5 with no problems.
    Diane

    Halak 41

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Long Island, New York
    Shooter
    Medium Format
    Posts
    1,067
    I think, (so don't hold me to it) that the F 100 senses the presence of film through an infrared emitter and sensor - that's how it measures film transport. If I'm right, you don't want to use IR film in that camera anyway. The camera would fog it.

    Bob H
    "Why is there always a better way?"

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Shooter
    35mm
    Posts
    54
    "The camera would fog it."

    Only at the perforation - and even if Aura/HIE film is used, the bleed at the bottom/top of the frame will be v. small.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Long Island, New York
    Shooter
    Medium Format
    Posts
    1,067
    Aah - good to know alkos. I've only used my F3 for IR work because of this. Thanks.

    Bob H
    "Why is there always a better way?"

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Naestved, Denmark
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Posts
    146
    Quote Originally Posted by BobNewYork View Post
    I think, (so don't hold me to it) that the F 100 senses the presence of film through an infrared emitter and sensor - that's how it measures film transport. If I'm right, you don't want to use IR film in that camera anyway. The camera would fog it.

    Bob H
    I have run a lot of Maco IR820 and HIE through my F100, no problem with fogging, because there are no infrared emitter and sensor in the F100!

    Tom

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Long Island, New York
    Shooter
    Medium Format
    Posts
    1,067
    Even better. I'd heard some time ago that there was so I just didn't chance it. (That'll teach me to believe everything I hear:o)

    Do you use manual lenses / manual focus for the IR ?

    Of course this doesn't help the OP with his problem. Has the OP tried to load a "normal" film to make sure it's not an overall issue, rather than an IR film-specific issue?

    Bob H
    "Why is there always a better way?"

  8. #8
    TheFlyingCamera's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Washington DC
    Shooter
    Large Format
    Posts
    8,305
    Blog Entries
    51
    Images
    434
    It may be a case of no DX-coding on the can. Since you can't set a standard ISO for infrared film, many manufacturers don't put a DX-code label on the canisters. The F-100 may take this lack of DX coding to mean that no film is loaded, or it may just confuse the camera and so it locks up.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Shooter
    35mm
    Posts
    54
    "I have run a lot of Maco IR820 and HIE through my F100, no problem with fogging, because there are no infrared emitter and sensor in the F100!"

    Interesting. My F80 fogged the perforation, however f100 might have different detection system indeed.

    "The F-100 may take this lack of DX coding to mean that no film is loaded, or it may just confuse the camera and so it locks up."

    No DX coding effects in ERR message, unless CSM no.5 is set to 2 - but it winds the film normally.

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Serbia, Belgrade
    Shooter
    35mm
    Posts
    47
    Thanks to all. Just to clear things up - F80 has IR emitter but F100 has another mechanism for film winding.

    @BobNewYork
    I wrote in the first post that I tried with normal and it worked just fine.

    I`ll try to set ISO manually.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast


 

APUG PARTNERS EQUALLY FUNDING OUR COMMUNITY:



Contact Us  |  Support Us!  |  Advertise  |  Site Terms  |  Archive  —   Search  |  Mobile Device Access  |  RSS  |  Facebook  |  Linkedin