Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,290   Posts: 1,535,378   Online: 812

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    ULarge Format
    Images

Double coating with dichromate

Does anyone know what would happen if you coat your transfer tissue and let it dry then coat it again. Does it make any difference or are you just wasting dichromate.
    I'm new to pigment transfer so this stupid question may have been answered. I just can't find it.
    Thank you
    Mike
    "Capturing an image is only one step of the long chain of events to create a beautiful Photograph” See my updated website: mandersenphotography.com

Shooter
    35mm
    Keep in mind, it's the total amount of dichromate that you put into the tissue that matters. If you split that same amount up into 1, 2, 3, or even 4 coatings, it won't really make a difference, unless you wait quite some time between coatings, and then you risk some chemical fog.

If you're asking what the effect of doubling the amount of dichromate has, it will reduce contrast by the equivalent of about 1/2 a grade or so, and will increase speed roughly 1/6 to 1/3 of a stop.

I don't want to discourage discussion on this forum, but you may want to check out the Bostick & Sullivan carbon printing forum, too. It's a great resource.

Good luck with your learning...It's been about a month since I took my first carbon printing workshop, and if I would quit "trying something new" and just settle down and get dialed in, I'd be printing real images instead of step wedges.

--Greg

Shooter
    8x10 Format
    Images
    I take the amount I brush onto the tissue and divide it to two parts, brush on half until the tissue is dry (no surface moisture) then brush on the second half. Sandy King recommends this method. I do not know his reason, but I do it so that none of the liquid runs off the tissue.