Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,550   Posts: 1,544,775   Online: 1041

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Shooter
    Medium Format

paper shrinking problem, don't know what to do any more ...

Hi all,

I have a big paper shriking problem since the beginning of my gum printing activities (I'm only a beginner) 1.5 years ago.

Classic problem I would say, after the first coating/developing/drying, once I try to re-register the transparency negative with the paper, I get about 1mm off for print 18cm in width (that's 0.04 " off for a 7 " print).

It's enough to make the print to look blurry after the second coating.

I tried pre-soaking the paper in different manners, tried pre-soaking and drying twice before the first coat, tryed let it soak a full day, no avail.

Tried different papers, BFK Rives, Somerset, Lanaquarelle, Montval, Hahnemuhle ... same issue more or less.

In the summer, when the temperature is about 25°C and 50% relative humidity, I get 1mm off on a 18cm print (A5) and in winter when it's more like 20°C and 60-70% humidity, its a bit better but still 1mm off for a 29cm print (A4). It doesnt even make sense to try bigger prints ...

What can I do about this ? Pre-shrink 10 times ? Print on wood instead of paper ?...

Thanks for your ideas & help in advance !

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Not sure about your specific problem but at work we screen print onto polyester. We make sure that the material has done all of its shrinking before we start to print otherwise we would not be able to register print layers to each other.

Is it the paper itself which is shrinking? If so you should be able to come up with a process which will stabilise it before you start coating.

If it's the coating itself which is causing the shrinkage though, some sort of backing layer may be the only solution.

Steve.