Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,901   Posts: 1,584,487   Online: 1011

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    8x10 Format
    Images

New Richeson brush question

Hopefully my photo attaches. It shows what happens to my old Da Vinci Brushes. I have gone through 5 of them now. I wonder what I can do to not have that happen to my new Richeson. It seems to have a higher quality ferrule. Does anyone or everyone coat the ferrule?
    thanks Dennis
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails New-brush.jpg  

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Is that a coating you put on the ferrule?

I have a Richeson 9010 I have been using for a few years, mostly kallitype and some pd as well. The bristles near the ferrule have a similar stain, but the ferrule is in far far better condition. Slight corrosion. I did not put any protective coating on the ferrule.

Nice brush, is that a 3"? I picked up one the 3" Sterling brushes from B&S. It's works just fine, but does not have the feel of the Richeson.

Shooter
    8x10 Format
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by R Shaffer View Post
    Is that a coating you put on the ferrule?
    Yes I have always coated the Da Vinci. One of those pictured is coated with fingernail polish and the other is an experiment with Rubber Cement.
    Actually the Da Vinci brushes still work fine but they are so ugly!!

thanks
    Dennis

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Quote Originally Posted by dpurdy View Post
    Hopefully my photo attaches. It shows what happens to my old Da Vinci Brushes. I have gone through 5 of them now. I wonder what I can do to not have that happen to my new Richeson. It seems to have a higher quality ferrule. Does anyone or everyone coat the ferrule?
    thanks Dennis