Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,212   Posts: 1,532,073   Online: 1227

Shooter
    35mm RF
    Images

Why photo silver not reusable but photochromatic silver is

I am not good with chemistry but I want to ask that why photochromatic glasses which uses silver crystals are reusable but photographic silver is not ?

Is reason that we want to fix the image ?

If we can reuse the silver as photochromatic glasses without developing it , it opens a entire world to read it with most basic electronics !

Awaiting your reply ,

Best ,

Mustafa Umut Sarac

Istanbul

Shooter
    8x10 Format
    It is possible to "erase" an unfixed photographic image and to replace it with a new one. Use a bleach bath. The developed silver will revert to silver halide.
    I suppose you could let the material dry and then record a new image if you wanted to.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I'm not sure what your question is, but -in the process of developing negatives and prints- there is much unused silver in solution as silver salts. In commercial labs, this silver is routinely recovered from the otherwise "waste" liquids by the process of exposing these liquids to iron wool. The iron displaces the silver in the solution causing the iron wool to be replaced by metallic silver, which is thereby once again made available for re-use.

In a commercial lab, the quantities over a year are significant.

AgX

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Good question Umut,

The basic process in convential photographic silver halid and photochromic silver halid systems is the same.
    But do not overlook the different matrices employed.

And a photochromic silver halid systems has inded been used in photographic image forming.
    I hinted at the latter already at another thread of yours.

Shooter
    35mm RF
    Images
    Vlad ,
    Really funny , isnt it ?
    Galah ,