Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,760   Posts: 1,516,032   Online: 923

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

Moersch Easy-Lith Capacity

Hey all, I'm new to Lith and was wondering about the capacity of this solution? I am mixing 1:25 (20A+20B+1000 water) and I think it died after the 2nd print(had that peppery look). Is that pretty standard?

Also, the development times are around 20 Min, though the instructions say to expect 8-12 minutes. I was using it at 20 degrees C.

Thanks!

Shooter
    35mm
    Images
    This is the worst sort of answer, but it depends.

I get at least 4-5 18x24 cm prints out of the same dilution you have mentioned. A higher temperature will get you shorter development times but will finish off the developer faster than at 20 C. For me, I get between 3-5 minutes on Fomabrom Variant III at 40 degrees C - and I know my colleague has had times of 60-90 seconds with Fomatone MG. When the developer cools down to 20 degrees C, I often get times around 15-20 minutes, with the first signs of the lith prints coming up at the 10-11 minute mark.

The time it takes to the snatch point varies with dilution, agitation, temperature and the sort of paper you are using.

The developer, even in its concentrated form is quite weak and oxidizes with exposure to air. Thus a big shallow tray with a small amount of liquid will die faster than a small one with a bigger volume. The less surface area the developer has, the longer time it will take to die by the exposure to air.

I am only an amateur compared to Tim Rudman - here's one of his articles to get you further along: http://unblinkingeye.com/Articles/Lith/lith.html

Feel free to ask more - there are no stupid questions!
    “Do your work, then step back. The only path to serenity.” - Lao Tzu

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I agree with everything Jerevan said above!