Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,905   Posts: 1,521,393   Online: 1068

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

Help! Lith printing 20x24 not working!

Cheers!

I am a student that has been learning about Lith printing this past semester. My school's department is not very encouraging of any aesthetic outside of their narrow focus of the medium, and have been teaching myself alternative processes for the past year. It's time for my Senior Show and I have been Lith printing my infrared negatives on small sized paper from Oriental and Foma. They've been coming out beautifully. For the show I was to go up to size 20x24 and ordered the same exact Oriental VC at that size. I also tried some old Kentmere, Ilford and Kodak Fine-art that was stored in the studio. None of them would Lith at that size. My negs don't work that big for traditionally printing and am being told to resort to digital prints. PLease Help if you know why Lith printing that big won't work or if you know a paper/chemistry combination that does! I'm using Arista Developer now. Thanks!

Best,

Rhea

Shooter
    Med. Format RF
    Images
    It sounds like the move up in size is straining the set up you have.
    If you are using same paper , same chemicals, same negatives, making lith prints larger will certainly work, I am making 30 x40's tommorow from 2 1/4 negatives.
    I would imagine if your time for a small print was lets say 30 seconds.
    Your new time for a 20x24 could easily get up in the 2 minute or longer exposure.
    for that you will need glass carriers.

but , it will work
    Quote Originally Posted by Rhea View Post
    Cheers!