Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,837   Posts: 1,582,460   Online: 768

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format

Dry Plate Process?

I am in the process of researching and getting ready to experiment with dry plates. I found this article at alternativephotography.com by Mark Pedersen and was wondering if anyone has tried his suggestions/process? If you haven't tried his process but have experience, any observations or comments about his article would be helpful too.

Here is the article:
    http://www.alternativephotography.co...-plate-process

I am an experienced LF photographer but just getting started with dry plates, paper negatives, etc. I am in the process of sourcing all the supplies (glass plates, chemicals, etc) and was hoping to avoid any pitfalls or issues if I use the above article as a starting point in my process.

Thanks,

Tim

Shooter
    Medium Format
    I've been using Liquid Light on glass plates for a while. An albumen solution works great to keep the emulsion from floating off the plate in the developer. It's cheaper and probably easier than the gelatin + hardener size. 1 egg white in a liter of water. You could add a drop of ammonia if you want, to help prevent mold from growing. But I just filter it before I pour it on the plate. Let it dry, then pour the emulsion on top of that. A hardening fix also helps prevent the emulsion from floating off the plate during the longer times in the fix.

If you're hoping to make an ambrotype, I found that using a parodinal (w/vitamin c) type developer works a lot better than dektol. It also helps with the high contrast of the emulsion.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images