Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,840   Posts: 1,582,497   Online: 947

Shooter
    35mm Pan

Need help with a Beseler 45MCRX with a DG1 Dichro 8145 Color Head

Ok Newbie here. Be easy on me.

Bought this and have questions.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	_DSC7386.jpg 
Views:	30 
Size:	105.6 KB 
ID:	47825Click image for larger version. 

Name:	_DSC7389.jpg 
Views:	24 
Size:	74.5 KB 
ID:	47829Click image for larger version. 

Name:	_DSC7387.jpg 
Views:	24 
Size:	87.3 KB 
ID:	47827Click image for larger version. 

Name:	_DSC7385.jpg 
Views:	23 
Size:	85.9 KB 
ID:	47826Click image for larger version. 

Name:	_DSC7388.jpg 
Views:	23 
Size:	81.3 KB 
ID:	47828

It looks like this is a newer head on an older enlarger.

The box between the transformer for the cold light head looks like it is designed to mount on some other type of unit. Do I need to rig it up for this one?

The timer unit has 2-prong outlets and the head has 3-prong plug. OK to use with adapter w/o ground? Does the timer usually need to be used with safelight to shut it off while exposing?

Controls at side of enlarger look like they only work with old style head. Only thing still useful is the control for raise/lower?

Lastly... what are typical ranges of time for exposure? I understand that this could vary depending on paper, film density, size of enlargement, etc. Just looking for a starting ballpark.

Wondering the steps that something like this is used. I understand loading and focusing. I have not done enlarging since about about 1970 when I was 13 so go easy one me ?

Thanks in advance for any and all help!
    Eric Muetterties

Shooter
    Multi Format
    You have a diffusion head with color dichroic filters. The bulb runs off the 24V power supply. The variable "resistrol" is for a different head.