Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,901   Posts: 1,584,465   Online: 921

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format

Very beginner enlarger question... help wanted!

Hi, I am very new to it so I hope that some of you chaps and chapettes can help.
    Hopefully soon I will set a darkroom and start for the first time to develop and eventually print. I am a bit confused about the enlarger and I'd be very grateful for help and suggestions in choosing one and things/aspects to pay attention to.
    I will be mainly working in B&W
    35mm and/or Medium format (120)
    the darkroom is actually a bathroom (so it's going to be a "temporary" darkroom)
    Probably there should be more questions I should ask but being a very beginner, I cannot think of more right now. Maybe they will come later.
    Many thanks for any help

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Hello there Zinzin!!
    Well, since you really did not ask any questions, I'll just start by responding to some things you stated!
    Ok, you say that you will mostly be doing B&W... does this mean that you will also be doing some color?? If this is true and you will be doing primarily B&W, but also color, you will need an enlarger with color head. It has a "box" on the top and allows you to 'dial in' color settings. You can also use those color settings like filters when you are enlarging B&W. So an enlarger with a color head can do both, while an enlarger that does not have that head can only do b&W.

Most enlargers will work for at least 35mm and 120mm. You may need different lenses for each size...I do for mine. I have an older Beseler 23C II which is a wonderful machine. I only do B&W. I have a 50mm lens for 35mm enlargements and a 75mm lens for my 120mm enlargements.

I don't know if any of this is helpful, but it gave me a chance to limber up my fingers this morning!