Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,963   Posts: 1,523,219   Online: 846

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format

Time-O-Lite runs 1 sec. long.

I have a Time-O-Lite Master (M-59) that runs one second too long no matter what time you set it for.

If you set it for 5 seconds it runs for 6. If you set it for 30 seconds, it runs for 31. If you set it for 60 seconds, it runs for 61.
    If you carefully set the pointer at zero seconds, just before it trips off, it runs for one second.

I've taken the back off, dusted it out and put a drop of oil on the shaft but it still behaves the same way.

It's a pain in the ass to always set the dial for one second less than you really want. Does anybody have any ideas or solutions?
    Randy S.

In girum imus nocte et consumimur igni.

-----

http://www.flickr.com/photos/randystankey/

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I'd reposition the pointer on the shaft clockwise one second. I think there are one or two screws affixing the pointer to the shaft.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    What manner of fastener holds the pointer to the shaft? I can't quite tell.

I couldn't find an Allen key that fits. Neither does a screwdriver seem to fit, flat-bladed or Phillips.
    I'm sure it's not a Torx. None of my Torx bits fit, either.

Could it be a Bristol spline? Many small screws in cinema projectors are Bristol splines.
    Unfortunately, I don't have a set of Bristol keys any more.

I hope the heads haven't been cammed out by the previous owner. (i.e. Using an Allen key to tighten a Bristol screw would certainly risk stripping out the heads.)

Given the cost of buying a set of Bristol keys, I might be better off buying a new timer from somebody on Ebay.
    Randy S.

-----

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Quote Originally Posted by Worker 11811 View Post

I couldn't find an Allen key that fits.