Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,762   Posts: 1,516,157   Online: 945

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format

What to do with semicomplete Leica V35 Focomat?

Hi,

I recently got a semi-complete Leica V35 for free, it seems to be missing the bulb and holder, along with the lens.

So, is this thing worth fixing (I understand that it's supposed to be quite good), and in what manner? Some sites seem to recommend getting the original lens so the AF will work (what is this and do I need it?), while others recommend a Nikkor instead. And how hard are the bulbs to get and where do I get them from?

Sorry for all these not so bright questions, but I'm a complete newbie when it comes to the whole printing part of darkroom work.
    Canon F1n / FTb / AE-1P | Yashica Mat-124G | Hasselblad 500C/M | Leica IIIf

Shooter
    35mm

This is a great enlarger for 35mm. You can use any normal lens, but will require to refocus when you change image size. The most common original lens is the 40mm Focotar. You see these for sale, but they can be expensive. I don't use the autofocus feature on mine, although I have the correct lens. If the lamp holder is missing, I would suggest contacting the Leica distributor for your area. They may be able to supply the parts, and most likely at a competitive price. The lamps are available from various sources. There is some useful info online, and in the archives of this forum, which may help you. Alex

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    I got a V35 for free that was missing only the rear plate behind the bulb holder. I emailed Leica (the German company, not a distributor) and they sent me one for free, commenting that this was the last one they had in stock. I couldn't believe the great service.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuggi View Post