Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,930   Posts: 1,556,849   Online: 941

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Shooter
    Multi Format

Enlarger turret for lens, how useful in a home darkroom?

I got a 3 lens turret with my Omega D5 enlarger,
    It seems like a neat thing to have, but I wonder how practical it is for a home darkroom.
    I'm wondering if it is better to just use a single lens on a slide in lens mount.

On the D5, when I change formats, besides the lens, I have to adjust the position/height of the lens carrier, so why not just swap lens boards at that time? I can see this if I was still in school where the guy printing would have to print from various sizes of film. But at home things are more stable, I am printing usually from just 1 film size. And I've never used a lens turret before, so I have no practical experience to compare it with a single lens setup.

I would appreciate hearing from those of you who use a 3-lens turret on your enlarger.

thanks

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I use one on my D-6 Pro Lab with adjustable bellows and adjustable condensors. I'm set up with a 50mm, 90mm, and 135mm and cover 35mm, 6x6 and 6x9 with the 90mm, and 4x5. It's a snap to switch between formats. I don't think it would work with a machine that requires a different length cone for each format.
    Rick A
    Argentum aevum

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    I used one on my D5. I only had one slide in lens board, so I would have had to unscrew and remount lenses to change.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I have a turret for my Beseler 45MX that I got on Ebay for cheap. It saves me having to switch lenses by unmounting the lens and mounting another lens if I switch printing different formats. I used to keep my 3 mounted lenses in a box wrapped in bubble wrap. Now all 3 are on a turret. It's handy, but not a necessity.