Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,879   Posts: 1,520,391   Online: 1020

Shooter
    35mm

Processing 35mm long rolls

This is a question of historical curiosity.

A post today by DrZorba of a Nikon with a huge 35mm bulk back took me back.

I got my first OM-1 in the late '70s. I was a high school student, so I had little money for accessorizing, but I buried my nose in the accessory catalogs that came with the camera, and I daydreamed about every entry. (Part of me still wants an Olympus microscope, and I can't say why.) I thought the bulk film backs were very cool. (I don't recall in what context I imagined I would need them, but that's what daydreams are like.)

Anyway, if you actually shot a 250 frame roll (or for DrZorba's post, 750 frames), how would it even be processed? Is this something that would get multiple loops (for lack of a better term) in deep tanks, or would it get cut up, assuming that you could sacrifice a few frames?

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Images
    I don't personally know (haven't done any bulk loading back work)...

But I imagine any system designed to do movie film processing, could handle the job.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    The big labs I'm familiar with ran cine processors. They're continuous machines, preloaded with plastic leader material. You start up by tape-splicing the front of the film to the end of the leader. When you run out of film, you attach a roll of leader to the tail end of the film, so the machine automatically restrings itself with leader. Obviously this is only sensible if you have quite a lot of film. Our last machines ran 50 ft/min, so that 250-shot roll would only take about 40 seconds of machine time.