Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,280   Posts: 1,534,869   Online: 816

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Multi Format

Problems printing with Omega C700

Hey guys, I don't post often but I would like some help from you darkroom gurus!

I graduated college about a year ago, (for photography of course :P) and spent a few years working in a darkroom and with various other equipment. I'm not a complete noob when it comes to darkroom processes but maintenance isn't something I'm used to having to deal with.

So here is the deal: I set up my own darkroom to play with 35mm for a while and I just haven't had any luck with this enlarger. I'm not used to dealing with Omegas but this was for cheap, practically given away. But there is some fall off toward the edges but the center gets burned too deep. I have provided a test on a Bromoil (Amidol developed, which I had just mixed up) paper to show you what I'm talking about. The blacks don't get black unless exposed for abnormally long periods and at that point the rest of the image just turns into a big blob of garbage with very little contrast and even less details.

My negatives are fine, I printed them on the enlargers when I used up a weekend to return to my Alma Mater.

Anyways, I just put a new bulb in it (75watts replacing the 25 watts in there) thinking that was it, but I was wrong. It's brighter, but still bad. The previously mentioned Amidol was the 3rd developer I tried thinking that was it (tried Dektol and even D-76 before) and was wrong again. The Bromoil paper I tried is a grade 2, but also tried RCs and VC fiberbased papers and it still prints crap. The condensers are clean and in correctly, there really isn't any other way to put them in.