Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,808   Posts: 1,581,480   Online: 1088

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Shooter
    Medium Format

A developing tank question

Would this rod, reel, and tank be air tight, when I develop my film negative, or, will it need to be loaded with the caffenol in complete darkness? I am a very rookie rookie, please excuse my ignorance! Thank you!

20140727_205933 by a.rodriguezpix, on Flickr

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Here is a great experiment for you:

1) Put the reel in the tank;
    2) With the lid off of the tank, pour enough tap water into the tank to fully submerge the reel, plus another 1/4 inch or so;
    3) Take the tank and dump that water into a measuring beaker. Note the volume of the water in the beaker - that is a good measure for future use of that tank with that reel; next
    4) Pour the water back into the tank;
    5) Put the lid on to the tank, but leave the smaller cap off;
    6) Without removing the lid, try to pour the water back into the measuring beaker. It should flow out without too much trouble through the opening at the top. Check that the volume is at least close to the volume you poured in; next
    7) Pour the water back into the tank through the opening you poured it out. It will help if you tip the tank slightly and pour carefully; and
    8) Put the cap on the top, to cover the opening. Try to see if the cap stays on when you invert and agitate the tank, and whether it leaks appreciably.

The opening in the tank is actually a light baffle - it should permit filling and emptying the tank with chemicals without letting in light. Practice a bit with it and tap water first, so you get a feel of how fast you can pour.

Don't forget to dry out the tank and lid and cap and reel before you use it. Air drying is usually fine.