Switch to English Language Passer en langue franšaise Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 74,547   Posts: 1,646,245   Online: 1055

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images

Ilford 500 contrast control problem: 2 Part Question.

My ilford enlarger has started to malfunction. I have the 500h head and the cpm controller. I am getting inconsistent contrast/light intensities .....for example, grade 5 will intermittently be much brighter (possibly a grade 2 or who know what). I changed bulbs, and I'm still experiencing the same problem. Anyone have similar problems in the past? I imagine it's the cpm controller. Any advice on how to check the controller? I have no experience and can't do this myself. I do have the parts manual.

Part 2. I have a spare 500c controller I am going to hopefully be able to use. My question is the manual for the 500c says that the bulbs are 150 watt. I was using the 300 watt bulbs. Can I continue using the 300 watt bulbs, or do I need to switch to 150 watt bulbs ?

Thanks for any help with this! I'm hoping I won't have to switch to another system !!!

Gary P

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Hi Gary. One of the first things I'd suspect is the lamp sockets & lamp contacts. It doesn't take much to cause problems. I had a problem a while ago where one lamp didn't lite, changed bulbs ok, put the originals back in ok. Likely some corrison on the contacts.

As far as I know the controllers are interchangeable. Re the 150w vs 300w the main change was some added heat shields in the head. Later versions of the power supply added some extra isolation but they are basically the same.

My first suspect would be the contacts and various cables, then the parts in the power supply, lastly the controller. Trouble is these things are getting old, so lots of points of failure.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images