Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,720   Posts: 1,483,130   Online: 1243

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

First print. Questions:

So I figured out the bad connection that was causing my enlarger to not turn on properly. I made my first print based off of the test strips I made. There's only one problem....

I set the color head to match what should be "grade 1" filtering as a starting point. The thing that worries me is that the exposure was 45 seconds at f/5.6 and it looks like it could have used a healthy dose of more exposure. The timer only goes to 60 seconds and I'm thinking 60 seconds would be almost right or just a little underexposed. Using Dektol 1+2. I developed for 1min 30sec.

Now I realize I'm a beginner but.. isn't that WAY too long? Any suggestions on what I should check?

(thanks for your patience with these beginner questions, everyone)

Shooter
    Large Format
    Images
    If its a really high contrast negative, maybe not. Are you sure that the shutter speeds on your camera are correct? I'm assuming that you had high contrast if you chose a 1 for your filter factor. Also, what type of timer do you have? They normally go well over 60 seconds?

I like exposures in the 30-45 second range. This gives me time to modify things and reduces the chance of a second or two making a print unusable.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Quote Originally Posted by Natron
    Now I realize I'm a beginner but.. isn't that WAY too long? Any suggestions on what I should check?
    Maybe. Maybe not-) How dense is the negative? How easily can you see through the negative? If it's very dense then it might not be too long.

What did you set the enlarger filters to? What kind of paper are you using? How big was the print?

Shooter
    35mm
    It's really not that dense at all. Honestly average.