Switch to English Language Passer en langue franšaise Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,497   Posts: 1,543,071   Online: 895

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Enlarger recommendations, please

Hi,

I am a relative beginner to the dark room side of this photo-hobby (I have been playing with it for years, but only a few months ago did I get a make shift set up of my own). I shoot a lot of medium format and would like to shoot more - unfortunately, the hand-me-down enlarger I have (thanks to the generosity of a friend who shares my affliction with photography) is only suitable for 35 mm. It is a MeOpta Axomal 1a, a rather elderly Czechoslovakian product (that country no longer being one in and of itself indicates the age to some degree!). I believe it is a condenser type (light goes through a big lens then through the neg - that is a condenser, right?), and its inability to print medium format is not a limitation of neg carrier or lens. The actual casting that holds the neg carrier has a round hole in it that "vignettes" a medium format neg as it is not much larger than the neg itself - so I can only print the very centers of the image - which as you can imagine is very limiting. Not to mention, the lense is not exactly ideal for medium format. Well, here is my question:

I would love to hear advice and/or suggestions as to what to buy next.

While this old enlarger is OK, I would like to purchase an enlarger that will allow me to print both 35 mm and medium format (6x6 mainly).

What are the most reliable, bang-for-the-buck options available to me in the used market?

I shoot B&W almost exclusively at this point - so the equipment will only need to fulfill that role, and budget is a BIG concern. Thanks for all your help in advance!

Peter.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Hi Peter