Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,919   Posts: 1,584,776   Online: 909

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Using a color analyzer as a densitometer?

Hello, I am trying to use a Beselar PM2L analyzer as a densitometer to do BW film tests. I am hoping this will allow me to do more rigorous tests than the rough print tests I have done thus far. Am I right in assuming this can be done? I have no exprience with a color analyzer, so might be completely off the ball here.

I am setting it to the "white" channel and taking readings from various frames of 35mm film, reading the upper scale denoting filtration because the tim scale is not linear. Any particular tips and advice you might have would be helpful. I am an absolute beginner at this, so please explain the details as simply as possible.

many thanks,
    -Anupam

Shooter
    Multi Format
    The only way I can see this working is if you get a step wedge to calibrate the process.

The colourstar 3000 etc are designed to handle the densitometer function but I don't think the Beselers ever were.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Thanks. I'll get a step wedge to compare. But I am wondering if it might be possible to use this setup as described in this photo.net thread using a blank frame as a comparative starting point.

Shooter
    Large Format Pan
    Quote Originally Posted by Anupam Basu
    Hello, I am trying to use a Beselar PM2L analyzer as a densitometer to do BW film tests. I am hoping this will allow me to do more rigorous tests than the rough print tests I have done thus far. Am I right in assuming this can be done? I have no exprience with a color analyzer, so might be completely off the ball here.