Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,222   Posts: 1,532,358   Online: 1116

Shooter
    Medium Format

LPL 7700 enlarger issues

Hello, All,
    First, I just want to say that this is my first time to post here, but I've read a lot of the information posted and this is a great forum for darkroom lovers. And I also want to thank the member "firecracker" who discussed with me by PM a lot about this issue and the Fuji 690 enlarger as an alternative. He was very helpful!

Now, about the 7700. I've read that another person here posted with a siimilar problem, and that is when I lock down the head it moves over to one side slightly. Actual head movement is very small, but on the easel the image moves about a centimeter or so. I've taken the head apart and looked at the design. Basically the handle just pushes on one side of the column and on the other side is a plastic wheel which counteracts this. I've tried shimming all the column wheels and that did take much of the movement out of the system, but it created the side effect of too much friction and the head then would not move so easily. Because the locking handle is not exactly centered the movement is uneven and seems to cause alignment issues. Frankly, aligning everything for each negative is also too much trouble for me.

If I lived in North America I would just buy an enlarger with alignment features built in, such as an Omega D5 or Beseler VXL. Unfortunately, in Japan such enlargers are very difficult to find, expensive, and I also have space issues since my apartment is small at best.

Is the 7700 just a bad design? Or, is there something that can de done? If anyone has any ideas or would like to discuss alternatives, please chime in.

Regards,
    Nigel.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    My name is Nigel and I have a C7700...