Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,929   Posts: 1,585,263   Online: 1021

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm RF

Agfa Pro print processing machine

I'm building a new darkroom next summer and as I got an odd chance to purchase a second-hand Agfa Pro processing machine for RA-4, I thought to ask if there's anything very important to know about operating this type of machine. I have no prior experience with processing machines. How much will the estimated water consumption be, for example, with these machines?

Is there something else that I need to take into account when planning the arrangement of the facilities in the darkroom? Extra ventilation, etc?

It will be a single room of approx 10x8 feet, used for enlarging and developing mainly BW prints on RC paper. Also for developing films (35mm and 120) and maybe also drying them. Prints will be viewed and dried in a separate room (a smaller room or porch with natural light).

My enlarger is a Durst AC800 that takes some 2x2 feet of tablespace. Additionally there will be a small sink and a glass-top table for the wet side work.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    >I got an odd chance to purchase a second-hand Agfa Pro processing machine for RA-4.

There are a multitude of processing machines for RA-4. I have one at the small end of the spectrum a fijimoto CP-31, which is a makimum 12" wide roller processor. The larger units I am familiar with are made by Kreonite etc.

>I thought to ask if there's anything very important to know about operating this type of machine
    It is imperative that the rollers or belts be still in good shape. Shape is hard to define. Are there flat spots on any. Are they uniformly hard or sticky? There are frequently hard and sticky type once in the same machine.