Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,714   Posts: 1,514,727   Online: 847

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Shooter
    Multi Format

Enlarger - first thoughts

Hi all. I am considering to get and enlarger a longer time already, but finely in the near future (after I move) I should have the possibility to get one.

The caveat is - I have no experience with darkroom enalrgers so I am lost among all the types and features/accessories.

- I plan to enalrge BW only.
    - According to what I have seen I would be preferably using glossy fiber based papers (how to dry them properly ?)
    - I will probably not have a separate darkroom so the space will be a concern.

I shoot 4x5 and 6x6 and maybe 6x7 in the future (depends whether Fuji will bring their new camera or not). Up to now - all my printing was done from scans or in the case of 4x5 also with contact printing (a bit small for my taste). I am aware of the fact that 4x5 enlarger will be bigger/heavier than 6x6 (6x7) and I am not sure whether I should limit myself only to enlarging of the medium format.
    The print size I would like to be able to get is up to 16x16 or 16x20, although I would probably start with 8x10 only.

My problem is - which types and what are all the needed accessories and parts? What to look for and what to aviod? Any help or direction to a good general information source would be helpfull.

thanks

P.S. I am located in Germany
    Last edited by Matus Kalisky; 02-19-2008 at 10:17 AM. Click to view previous post history. Reason: more info

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Blog Entries
    Images
    I think the safe thing to do is pick up a complete 4x5 system, in good functioning condition, including lamp, a few spare bulbs, a simple timer, and a minimum of two enlarging lenses- one short and one long.