Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,732   Posts: 1,515,278   Online: 858

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    4x5 Format

BTZS Tubes DIY Homemade Build Your Own

Ok, so I am new to all this 4x5 stuff. I purchased a camera, and am also in the process of building one or more. So after readign through a bunch of posts I decided that I will give the BTZS Tubes a try even before trying trays. Seems that in some version of BTZS there is a description of how to make these, however, I am yet to see that and the book I have must be a version before that description was given. So I peeked through the forums and collected suggestions and got the following:

1. http://tinyurl.com/2lqks6
    2. http://tinyurl.com/2q7h8b
    3. http://tinyurl.com/3b4czn
    4. http://tinyurl.com/2q3stf

I do welcome any others, these were definitely intersting and well done.

I now have something that looks like it would get me arrested if I tried to send it through the mail. But with a dry fit, it seems like it will do the trick. For my first try I went with the design labeled #1 above. I may try others as I go forward, but this seemed the cheapest and easiest to get started with.

For others following my lead, here are a few things I have come up with.

1. The main tube was cut to 5-7/8" (149 mm)
    It could have been cut to 6" (152 mm) but I ran into some straightness issues, so by the time I was done, it was 5-7/8

2. The secondary tube was cut to 3-1/2" (89 mm)

3. When you dry fit these things together they certainly don't come apart very easily, but putting on a pair of rubber gloves makes quick work of it.

4. The smaller tube, capped, and attached to a coupler will hold 1/2 cup (4 oz or 120 cc) when filled to the to the line on the coupler.