Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,663   Posts: 1,481,677   Online: 762

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    35mm

beginner question: tank inversions, bubbles

I am just starting out with a Paterson two-reel tank.

On the instruction sheet for HP5 film, it says:

"With spiral tanks, invert the tank four times during the first 10 seconds, then invert the tank four times again during the first 10 seconds for each further minute."

HP5 at 400iso in ID11 1+1 is 13 minutes.

Now, it takes 13 seconds to fill the tank. It also takes 12 seconds to fit the ill-designed rubber cap on the tank. This means that I will be starting the first inversion at time=25 seconds. Is that ok? Isn't it 25 seconds too late?

The other option would be to pull out the reel holder in the dark, fill the tank, dump the reel holder in, start the timer and instead of doing the first inversions, rotate the agitator for 10 seconds. Then I would have 50 seconds to fit the funnel and the cap on the tank, turn the light on and do the rest of the inversions.

Then at 12:53 I pour out the developer (it takes 7 seconds), and pour in the stop.

Which one? Late inversions or on-time rotations?

Question #2: after pouring some water on some test film, I see that there is a substantial amount of bubbles between the spires of the reel and on the film, and it takes three VERY firm taps to dislodge them. Is that right? Everybody says one light tap.

What's the right thing to do?

thanks

piero

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I start my stopwatch once all the developer is in the tank. I agitate for the first minute, and then for ten seconds each minute there after. I begin emptying the tank with 10 to 15 seconds of development time remaining, I then put in the stop bath.

-----------My Flickr-----------
    Anáil nathrach, ortha bháis is beatha, do chéal déanaimh.

Shooter