Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,570   Posts: 1,545,476   Online: 1204

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images

Beseler 4x5 Color Head Recommendations

Hi,

I'm saving up for a color head for my Beseler 45MXII. I used to own the old blue dichro head with hose assembly and all (I think that was a dichro DG?) and I thought it worked really well. Unfortunately I donated it when I graduated, since I didn't have a darkroom or enlarger for it (I just put it on the school's enlarger).

But now I have a darkroom! And I like printing color, so I'm in the market for a color head. I thought about using CP filters--but that's just not how I want to do things. I thought a 45S head would be nice--it's new and fancy looking, but it goes for $300 or more on ebay if it's in decent shape. So I'm wondering if purchasing the older model (I think they run around $100/$150, but they don't show up as often) might be the way to go, especially considering I have a kind of non-functioning DG head anyway, that I could use for parts. (kind of non-functioning means there's no vacuum unit or hose, it does power up, a bulb might be out, and it only has a 35mm mixing chamers--and I print medium format.)

I'd like to hear people's opinion if there's any reason to chose the newer model over the older one for anything other than looks. One thing to consider is I do have all of my darkroom equipment on one surge protector because there's no power in my storage unit, so I have a line running upstairs to a ground-fault interrupt outlet. There's no way to bring another line in from another outlet. So if the newer 45s colorhead is of a lower wattage than the old model, then that might be a reason to save up a bit longer.
    In the name of God, stop a moment, close your work, look around you. ~LEO TOLSTOY

ann

Shooter
    35mm
    Images