Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,332   Posts: 1,537,380   Online: 1097

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Multi Format

Repairing a Dejur 4x5 enlarger

First: me. Long time APUG lurker, but I don't think I've ever posted anything. I have ~2 years of darkroom experience and I've done all the typical maint. on my 35mm condenser enlarger -- cleaning, alignment, etc. but this is my first time repairing a less-than-pristine piece of gear.

I'm working on an old Dejur 4x5 diffuser enlarger that (!!!) someone threw away. I'm mostly ready to go, but I need to tack down a few things... any thoughts?

1) The diffuser is gone. I presume that this enlarger had a ground glass or opal glass plate at one time. I am going to need to buy or build a replacement. Where should this sit? Over my fine, hand crafted negative carrier, or close to the light source?

2) What bulb should I use for this enlarger?

3) While I can control the left-right axis of the enlarger head (and the front standard swing for some reason) for alignment purposes, I can't control the front-back alignment. Of course, the head is out of alignment with the baseboard on the front-back axis.

I've noticed that the head does not stay firmly in place on the back post, and leans a little bit forward. There seems to be a little bit of space in the collar that slides up and don't the post... this causes the head to be at a slight angle with the post and if I lift the head up so it isn't at an angle, it is at least level (I can't comment about alignment).

I've considered wedging something between this collar and the post, but this would be inconvenient as I would have to replace it every time I moved the head up or down.