Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,717   Posts: 1,483,107   Online: 1037

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Shooter
    Medium Format

Focomat IIc or Zone VI Type 2 Enlarger? Complete System?

Hi everybody

I need as much input as possible. I'm just beginning to start 35mm and mainly 6x6 BW printing. I do wish to get into large format in the future. I am hoping to purchase an enlarger + lens that can produce prints with less Callier effect, more contrast in the shadows, smooth long tonal scale, perhaps less dodge and burn works, no alignment, light leaks and focusing problems. I am in dilemma between Focomat IIc and Zone VI 5x7 enlarger. Which is better suited to my purpose? I love Focomat because of its features; autofocus, lens turret, no alignment needed but I'm afraid that the condensor head is not the best choice to produce the look I'm after. So, I think Zone VI cold light is best for me. But after one week researching, this enlarger is still a mystery to me.

Can somebody tell me what do I need to make a complete Zone VI enlarger system?
    Does Type II need a stabilizer or is it already installed?
    Do I need a power supply for the head?
    Is it true the type II negative carrier is not good/ flat? What do I need to solve it?
    Any recommendations for lens and easels?
    My country's voltage is 240V but the Zone VI enlarger that I'm buying is rated 120V, would it be ok if I use 1 transformer to correct it? Or do I need more than that? (if there is more plug that has to be connected)

Any help is very much appreciated. Looking forward for your replies.

Ikhwan

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I have zero experience with either enlarger so take that into consideration.

From what I have read or have been commented to me, I would think a better comparison would be a Durst to the Focomat. Personally, I would love to have a Focomat for 35mm.