Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,592   Posts: 1,545,984   Online: 1043

Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast

Thread: DIY safelight

Shooter
    35mm

DIY safelight

i have a few questions,regarding the safelight.i’m still a beginner,and would like setup a darkroom for B&W printing.Right now I’m looking for a safelight,and if possible, I would like to DIY it.

1)i found this filter at Freestyle,

Premier 10x12 Red Filter
    http://www.freestylephoto.biz/101218...er?cat_id=1603

Premier 5x7 Red Filter
    http://www.freestylephoto.biz/57184-...er?cat_id=1603
    other than size,what is the difference between this two filter?it seems that both is having a different colour.

Can I just buy this filter and make my own safelight?is it still the same as the one that is sold,like here
    http://www.freestylephoto.biz/191210...ht?cat_id=1603

2)what size of the safe light that is suitable for me, 10x12 or just get the 5x7?
    right now,my temporary darkroom(my toilet actually) size is 6x9x6 ft.

3)can I just use the Fluorescent lamp,instead of the normal light bulb,because its produce less heat,and can be operated at a long hour..

4)i believe,this safelight is paper safe,but how about B&W film,is it also safe?

thanks in advance for any of your reply

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images