Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,299   Posts: 1,535,786   Online: 713

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

Changing enlarger power. Recommendations needed.

I have a lpl 7700 vcce enlarger who uses a 100w 12v halogen bulb.
    We all know that halogen light is less effective in order to print on vc papers due to its spectral sensibility and my printing times are very high.
    Then I have to options to look for a cold light head, and I think it is nothing avalaible for this enlarger, or to rise its light power.
    I have no knowledge on electronics but I think its not as easy as change the bulb to a bigger one, sure you have to change more things on the enlarger.
    Any advice?
    Thanks.
    Last edited by makanakijones; 02-05-2010 at 05:45 PM. Click to view previous post history.

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    Dear makanakijones,

My Chromega Dichroic uses a halogen light source and it prints quite nicely. While the bulb wattage is much higher (250W), I normally have to use the lower brightness setting when printing (this is just a piece of metal with holes in it that blocks some if the light from the bulb). Having said that, when my bulb is near the end of its life it does become much dimmer. You may be able to solve your problems with a new bulb.

Neal Wydra

Shooter
    35mm
    Hi Neal.
    It is not a bulb age problem. I have tried several new bulbs.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Diffuse tungsten halogen light is the ideal source for B&W printing, especially VC printing.

Cold cathode lamps and LEDs each have a plethora of issues (that can be overcome with technology and $$) limiting their usefulness

Switching from a VCCE head to a cold-cathode head for VC printing will lead to many large dents in your walls (from banging your head....)