Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,720   Posts: 1,483,130   Online: 1243

Thread: Durst M609

Shooter
    4x5 Format

Durst M609

Bought my first own enlarger (Durst M609) yesterday. Not sure if turns up to be a good deal but expensive it was not so no big losses expected. I did do some background check before buying it and M609 was widely regarded as good enlarger for B&W work. I have some questions about M609 though:

What type of lens boards does it use? Are they same as the modern Durst lens boards?

It comes with a 6x9cm glass negative holder. Can that be used for enlarging smaller negatives like 6x6cm?

If these sound like beginner questions then you are right. I have used couple of enlargers earlier but I am still a beginner when it comes to darkroom work.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Good going. Everyone swears by the M-600 series Dursts. I had an M-601 years ago and loved it. Yes you can use that carrier for smaller negs, if it has adjustable mask, or make your own mask. Depending on the lens, you may not be able to get big enlargments with smaller negs., because of the telephoto effect of the larger lens. Sounds like you have a good start at getting your DR started.

Rick

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I think that enlarger uses recessed SETOPLA boards.
    Last edited by ic-racer; 02-19-2010 at 12:10 PM. Click to view previous post history.

Shooter
    4x5 Format
    I was afraid that some sort of mask is needed. According to the pictures there doesn't seem to be any. What is that mask anyway? Piece of metal? Does it have any other purpose besides preventing light escaping around the negative?

Durst is still in mail, should be here during next week. I have 63mm and 80mm El-Nikkors waiting for it. Enlarging starts with 6x6cm and 6x4.5cm formats.

Shooter
    Multi Format