Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,007   Posts: 1,524,569   Online: 990

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Tank and Reel

Shooter
    Multi Format

Tank and Reel

Hey all,

I have few questions:

1. Which one is recommended, the plastic tank or the steel tank?

2. Which is better, plastic reel or stainless steel reel?

3. Is it better to go with a tank that hold one 120 reel or 2-x reels? so can i develop one reel in a two-120-reels tank or it is better to develop one reel in a tank which hold 1 reel?

4. If getting a 2-3 reels [120] tank, can i develop 2-3 film rolls at once without issues [same process for the 3 rolls]?

Shooter
    35mm
    I'm a beginner as well so my answers may be less than perfect:

1. I don't think there is much of a difference. The plastic ones are cheaper but you could theoretically break them if you dropped them.
    2. The plastic reels tend to be easier to load. Remember the reels should be very dry before attempting to load
    3. Not terribly much downside to a two reel tank. You can develop one reel in a two reel tank system. I have a two reel tank and have not developed more than one roll at a time so far.
    4. The only difference I'm aware of is that if you may need slightly longer (10%) developing times when putting two reels in. Kodak recommends this for D-76 developer. Not sure if its the same with other developers.
    Last edited by chris00nj; 02-19-2010 at 02:17 PM. Click to view previous post history. Reason: source Kodak, not my experience with d-76

Regina Canada (sounds more fun than it is)
    Shooter
    Medium Format