Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,829   Posts: 1,582,211   Online: 1027

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Medium Format

Developing tank setup newbie.

Hello there. I'm fairly new to film photography, and am interested in setting up a daylight developing tank etc., rather than having an entire darkroom setup. Can anyone explain the details, hints tips, or just in general any recommendations as to brands, how to develop my film (35 and 120, some colour), supplies that come in handy and good places so set up. Anything at all would be helpful to me, and I'm welcome to anyone's 2 cents worth of information. Or more.

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images
    Welcome. There is an excellent tutorial on the Ilford website. Everyone here shall be extremely helpful, but if you ask three people for recommendations, you'll probably get four answers while the first respondent is beginning to rethink what was said, so you'll have a fifth (vbg). Check out the Ilford site. And, once again, welcome; and have FUN!
    John, Mount Vernon, Virginia USA

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I started with a Paterson Super System 4 tank, with included plastic reel. I still use it if I'm developing either C-41 (for the thermal insulation) or 120 (because I like the way the reels load.)

For 35mm I now use a steel tank with Hewes reels (teeth that grab the sprockets, rather than a spring-loaded clip). I like it because it takes less chemistry to use, and I can agitate it with holding it in one hand. Also, I like the fit of the lid a bit better than the Paterson, which is a bit tight. But still an excellent tank!

Youtube has some excellent videos on how to load both types of film into reels, as well as both B&W and C-41 tutorials for using developing chemicals. A simple search should get you some good ones - just be sure to watch more than one!