Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,298   Posts: 1,535,738   Online: 802

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Shooter
    35mm

New to Darkroom and Equipment - Enlargers

Greetings,

I'm new to Darkroom work but want to learn. I love photography, and had some very limited experience with a darkroom in Art School 12 years ago. I shoot 35mm at the moment (Nikon FM2n and FE2) and eventually will get a medium format.

I was fortunate to find locally a gentleman who was selling his equipment. I got everything I need and more - two enlargers, easels, trays, development tanks, random equipment, darkroom books, timer, red light, thermometer, etc.

The two enlargers in question are;

1. Omega B-600 with a 50mm F3.5
    2. Rollei Nikor System 6X7 with a 50mm F4

I would like to keep only one. If anyone has any recommendations, I would greatly appreciate it. I will focus on B&W. At the moment I'm developing negatives myself.

Which one is a "better" enlarger? Also, when things break down, which one has more replacement parts? The B-600 seems to be a "newer" model.

Thanks,

Julien

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Hi Julien, and welcome to APUG.

Where approximately are you? Much of the advice about "better" enlargers depends a lot on your location.

Does either enlarger have a colour head? If it does, that is good, because it makes for ease of use when you wish to use variable contrast B & W materials.

Does either enlarger have a separate power supply with it? If so, that is good, because if one is required they can be a challenge to find used.
    Matt

“Photography is a complex and fluid medium, and its many factors are not applied in simple sequence. Rather, the process may be likened to the art of the juggler in keeping many balls in the air at one time!”