Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,957   Posts: 1,586,087   Online: 1011

Shooter
    Multi Format

Alternative to Jobo Expert Drum & Film Trays

I'm relatively new to LF. I was introduced to developing 4x5 negs using the Jobo Expert drum; however, trying to find these on the used market has not been fruitfull and the motor base agitators are even more difficult to find.

The Jobo Expert would have been key in addressing a space problem. I don't have the space for trays, or tanks. Even if I were to bite the bullet and buy a new Jobo drum, the motor bases are like really scarce.

Is there another alternative to the Jobo drum?

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Specifically I use the Chromega 8x10 drum and a Unicolor Uniroller 352 for 4x5 and 8x10 film. These both can be found occasionally on eBay. There are several variations of drums available, but my preferred Chromega drum has three gray plastic adjustable rods (plus dividers) inside the drum. The rods and dividers are what make the drum usable for multiple film sizes. Another functional drum is the Unicolor drum, as pictured here . . . http://www.largeformatphotography.info/unicolor

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Older 2000 series, Jobo's pre rotary tanks. I have one in the UK the other here in Turkey.

Ian

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I always used the JOBO Sheet film reel that uses the regular large dia. tanks. Worked well. Don't remember the model numbers.
    Items for sale or trade at www.Camera35.com

Nikor made a stainless 4x5 sheet film tank. Looks like an oversized 35mm film tank.

You need the band that goes around the reel to be included. Worthless without it.