Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,942   Posts: 1,585,742   Online: 1082

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Shooter
    35mm

Non-horizontal drum with Jobo CPP-2 and lift

Hallo,

This is my first help request on this forum. I hope my question is not too trivial.

I am just beginning to develop film. I have no previous experience. I bought a second-hand Jobo CPP-2 with "lift" and a Jobo drum with for two 35mm films. This is the drum with the cog on the lid, to be used with the lift.

I am at the stage where I am simulating things with water. I mixed "chemicals" (water), I learned how to load (very old) film into tank in a "changing bag", and now I am practising (with water) with timings, lift operations etc.

Today for the first time I actually inserted the drum into the lift. It "clicked" with a strong but healthy noise, and the Jobo seems to do the right job in rotating the drum back and forth. Raising and lowering the lift seems to work fine.

My problem is: the drum, when in working (rotating) position, i.e. with the lift down, is not horizontal on the Jobo. If the machine is levelled, as it is, the drum is not. The base of it points somehow noticeably "upward".

I checked on YouTube to see if this was normal. It seems that every Jobo machine without lift maintain the drum in a perfectly horizontal position, while Jobo machines with a lift, like mine, maintain the drum with the base higher than the lid.

My situation is similar to the one depicted in this video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jkxFN-O1z2k

You can see, since the first seconds, that the drum is not horizontal.

Actually I think in my case it might be worse. Even with the water on the upper (red) basin at its maximum level, the base of the drum is immersed in water by two or three millimetres.