Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,770   Posts: 1,484,234   Online: 1008

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Development question

I am very new to home processing of film. I was told by a knowledgeable guy that if you have an unknown film with no development instructions that mixing Rodinol 1:100 and leaving it in the tank for an hour will produce very good results. It will just develop until all the agents are used up.

It certainly appeals to me as a "set and forget" method when speedy results aren't needed - instead of devoting attention to watching the timer and agitating on schedule, just come back an hour later and complete the process.

Has anybody tried this? Would this method work with Ilford DD-X or Kodak T-max (my current chemicals)? If so, at what concentrations?

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Neither DD-X nor T-Max developers are meant to be used at very low concentrations. You could experiment but I would rather do clip tests than developing to completion. Take a few clip cuttings and develop in light for 5, 8, 12 minutes and fix and check the density.
    Harry Pulley - Visit the BLIND PRINT EXCHANGE FORUM

Happiness is...

Shooter
    Large Format
    HC-110 is pretty similar, in terms of being used for stand developing. I have never heard of anyone using T-Max or DD-X in this manner. Be aware that the absolute quantity of Rodinal (in terms of the area of film) does matter when you are doing stand developing.