Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,926   Posts: 1,585,043   Online: 969

Shooter
    Medium Format

Lens Plates for Omega D5

Heading back into the darkroom and I'm looking to fit out my Omega D5 XL with lenses. I have a 3 lens turret and was going to pick up a few Flat Plates with 39mm Threaded Flanges, figuring that these would work on just about any lens I'd be buying.

I was reviewing a link posted on APUG ---- http://www.khbphotografix.com/omega/LensMountD5.htm ---- and was just curious about the site saying I'd need to use an extended plate for a 105mm Rodagon.

I've never worked with extended plates before on the D5, so I wanted to know A) if they're actually necessary? and B) if so, when are they necessary? I just want to make certain I buy the right equipment. (Also, it may be helpful and informative to let you know that for the near future I'll be mainly printing 6x7 and 35mm negs.....eventually getting to 4x5).

Thanks so much!

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    A) they are necessary; and B) they are always necessary (to ensure that the shorter lenses focus, and the longer lenses don't bind on the turret or mount).
    Matt

“Photography is a complex and fluid medium, and its many factors are not applied in simple sequence. Rather, the process may be likened to the art of the juggler in keeping many balls in the air at one time!”

Ansel Adams, from the introduction to The Negative - The New Ansel Adams Photography Series / Book 2

Shooter
    Large Format
    Matt is right but you can rig some plates with mat spacers, longer screws or imagination to achieve the plate characteristics you need.
    Study the pics on the KBH site to learn the differences.