Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,536   Posts: 1,544,225   Online: 766

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Large Format

aperture setting for enlarging lens

hi. i have an omega d2 and use a 135 lens for my medium format negs. but in order to get more time to deal with dodging and burning, i tend to close down the aperture to f16 or even f22. is this okay? it feels like a dumb question, but as a newbie, i feel uncertain of myself. thanks for the help!

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Which lens are you using?

Most enlarging lenses have a "sweet spot" at about two stops down from the widest opening. So if you have a 135mm f/5.6 lens, you can most likely get the best response at about f/11.

Most likely you needn't worry about f/16. And f/22 isn't likely to be substantially worse.

If you have complete flexibility, f/11 would be a good target.
    Matt

“Photography is a complex and fluid medium, and its many factors are not applied in simple sequence. Rather, the process may be likened to the art of the juggler in keeping many balls in the air at one time!”

Ansel Adams, from the introduction to The Negative - The New Ansel Adams Photography Series / Book 2

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Once past the sweet spot the diffraction starts to dominate and eventually softens the enlargement. Stay near the sweet spot.

Steve
    Warning!! Handling a Hasselblad can be harmful to your financial well being!

Nothing beats a great piece of glass!

I leave the digital work for the urologists and proctologists.

Shooter
    Large Format

more info

hi! thanks for the help. the lens is a schneider-kreuznach componon 5.6

Shooter
    Medium Format
    Blog Entries