Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,761   Posts: 1,516,130   Online: 812

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images

Where can I buy Darkroom stuff (chems,tanks,reels,etc.)? (must not be online)

Hi, I am living in San Diego, CA, and I would like to know where can I buy dev stuff here? This is my first time to develop so I am looking for chems,tanks and reels, changing bag (anything else I forgot?). I cannot buy online as of the moment. Thanks. (for B&W film)

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I don't know your situation so here's just a suggestion.

You can buy them cheaply or for almost nothing right here on APUG. (does that constitute "online"?) Tanks and reels are available for few dollars. You really don't need changing bags. You can simply turn off all the lights in your house and go into a master closet if you got one. Hopefully, someone here can help you with a local source for chemistry.
    Develop, stop, fix.... wait.... where's my film?

Shooter
    Multi Format
    try checking on your craigslist postings in your area as well as garage sales on the weekends. Right about now many people have already been through spring cleaning, but many students in university are finishing or ending classes. they will most likely unload reels and basic items from their intro to photography courses, most in very good condition for good prices.

In the past few weeks in NYC ive been seeing almost 1 enlarger/darkroom setup being cleared out every other day. Earlier in the year you wouldn't see 1 enlarger in the metro area in a month. I got myself a lpl670xl enlarger BNIB (without baseboard) for $75, and Im picking up an extra tank and 4 reels tomorrow with some extras.

goodluck!

Shooter
    35mm
    Quote Originally Posted by ColdEye View Post