Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,557   Posts: 1,545,222   Online: 910

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Medium Format
    Images

Just bought some darkroom equipment - advice needed on darkroom itself

We are thinking about designing an office in my garage and I have the opportunity (significant other has agreed) that I can divide off an area about 6' x 4' as a darkroom. Today, in anticipation :-) I came across some equipment and bought it :- Vivitar V1 colour/bw enlarger, paterson tanks, various trays, timer, 50mm & 80mm componon lenses, old but good ilford safelight with various glass filters, bits n pieces, and some multigrade paper and some chemicals that the guy said would probably be OK (including some acetic acid ) so the pressure is on now to build a darkroom!

I'm a total novice at developing (but I'm experienced using film and as a longish member here I understand the basic theory of darkroom.)

So, bearing in mind the very small space I have available, any golden nuggets of advice for fitting out - sinks etc?

I understand the acetic acid is a stop, is it worth keeping this or are proprietary stops better. I'm not sure the old chemicals are a good place to start- When I'm ready, I'll start afresh, and come here for some chemical recommendations.

First things first - plan the darkroom!

Shooter
    Multi Format
    The acetic acid should be used at about 2%, rather dilute, less than half the strength of vinegar. Stronger than that and you will start to get pinholes in the film and paper from overly vigorous neutralization of the developer.