Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 71,546   Posts: 1,572,868   Online: 964

Shooter
    35mm

thomas safelight question

Hi.

I was wondering if a Thomas Safelight can be mixed with red (1A) safelights and still actually be "safe"??

I have a large darkroom/classroom (I am a HS photo teacher) space that has built-in red lights but is too dark for me to feel that my students can function well.

I have a thomas safelight, but am not sure if it'll fog our papers or not.

Thanks!

Shooter
    Multi Format
    I don't see why not, just be sure to test thoroughly. A Thomas reportedly isn't all that safe in a small darkroom even by itself.

I used to mix my Duka 50 sodium and a Paterson conventional safelight, the Duke on the dry side and the Paterson on the wet side, with no problems at all.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    There are red filters available for the Thomas, it's still pretty bright with them closed. I'm assuming you are using paper that needs red filters.

Either way the usual tests apply.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    Welcome to APUG!

There are a few teachers/instructors here on APUG who have responsibilities for darkrooms. You might consider asking a moderator to revise your thread title to include the words "for a school darkroom".

Just click on the exclamation symbol at the lower left of your post, and make your request (to the moderator).

And thanks for continuing to support analogue processes.
    Matt

“Photography is a complex and fluid medium, and its many factors are not applied in simple sequence. Rather, the process may be likened to the art of the juggler in keeping many balls in the air at one time!”

Ansel Adams, from the introduction to The Negative - The New Ansel Adams Photography Series / Book 2

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images