Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 68,772   Posts: 1,484,351   Online: 1239

Shooter
    Medium Format

Using same tank for b/w and color negatives?

Hey,

I'm new to analog photography, just started developing about a week or 6 ago. Is it a problem when you use the same tank for color and b/w negatives? I developed some color negatives a couple of weeks ago and (of course I washed out the reel and drum very good, Paterson) when I did a b/w 120mm the water was red after I developed. It is getting less and less now, but my b/w negatives show slight signs of darkish red coloring. Are these still the remains of a one time color development? And any ways to clean out the drum and reel thoroughly? I read something about vinegar.

Thanks.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    1. Soak in distilled water + vinegar or citric acid for about an hour or so.
    2. Flush
    3. Soak in distilled water + backing soda for about an hour or so.
    4. Flush
    5. Wash extensively in distilled water.
    6. Done

its better to have 2 tanks, one for color and one for B&W, thou You still have to clean them from time to time.
    Plastic ones at some point will get more hassle to clean up.
    Stainless Stell are ok, well, most of them. Usually the reel is very under-engineer thing.. but You cant have it all in one package

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images
    I've never had any problems switching between the two. I only rinse my stainless tank with hot water and dry it. I couldn't say the same for plastic tanks, never used one for color, only B&W.
    Rick A
    Argentum aevum
    BTW: the big kid in my avatar is my hero, my son, who proudly serves us in the Navy. "SALUTE"

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images