Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 70,338   Posts: 1,537,690   Online: 859

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Multi Format

cooke apochromatic process 25" is good for what?

I have access to a Cooke apochromatic process 25" series IX. I don't own it and it is not for sale. What are good uses for such a lens? I shoot my own Horseman 8X10 and have access to a Levy process camera and a Fotar 10 X 10 vertical enlarger. There will be more old lenses to try. The owner may be interested in it's worth, but so far he sells nothing. It look pretty clean to me. My longest lens is a Rodenstock APO-Ronar 480mm f:9. Is there anything to gain or learn in mounting the Cooke up? Obviously I am new to 8 X 10.

I do like shooting portraits with 4 X 5 and a 300mm. Perhaps I will need a the 25" to be happy at 8 X 10.

Random plinking welcome!

Shooter
    35mm
    I wonder how big the image circle is on that lens? I used to run a process camera in a print shop, and we could expose film up to either 16" or 20" wide (can't remember which, it's been 18 years). That camera used a Nikkor 480mm f/9 Apo. I'd assume a ~625mm process lens would have serious coverage and could possibly be used on a camera larger than an 8x10.

Shooter
    Large Format
    Isn't the rule of thumb that a process lens has a coverage area two times the diagonal of the film used?
    I seem to recall that factoid being mentioned in a large format book.
    If you have the coverage, then you could guess on the size of film it was intended for.
    That way, you could use plenty of movements with it as well.

Shooter
    Multi Format
    "Isn't the rule of thumb that a process lens has a coverage area two times the diagonal of the film used?"