Switch to English Language Passer en langue française Omschakelen naar Nederlandse Taal Wechseln Sie zu deutschen Sprache Passa alla lingua italiana
Members: 69,902   Posts: 1,521,189   Online: 1117

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Shooter
    Large Format
    Images

8x10 suggestions

Im currently shooting a Eastman View No. 1 with a "no name" 12 inch lens. The combination actually fits me, but im limited to shooting extended exposure since I don't have a lens with a shutter. I simply use the lens cap as the shutter for long exposures. However I would like to get into shooting some faster speed films during the day. My question is, should I simply buy a lens with a Copal shutter, or upgrade the whole system? Im no pro, and will probably never have a showing, or sell my stuff, so cost is a bit of a factor. I would love any suggestions. Thanks
    Rick Lanning
    Retired Crime Scene Photog.

Shooter
    35mm RF
    If you have to up-date the whole kit anyway... why not just start with the lens. Pick up a nice Fujinon 300mm C off ebay. You'll get great results on this camera, and can always use the lens down the road if you up-grade the whole thing.
    Rob Skeoch
    This is my blog http://thepicturedesk.blogspot.com/
    This my website for photo supplies...
    www.bigcameraworkshops.com
    This is my website for Rangfinder gear
    www.rangefinderstore.com

Shooter
    8x10 Format
    The Fujinon C series are great. Lots of coverage and small. The A series is also great, but the 240 barely covers an 8x10, and the 180 doesn't. I assume you're looking for a used 8x10. Just make sure it's functional. I once got an 8x10 Century Universal because it was cheap. Sure was, I had to use bungie cords to hold the back on. Try posting some "want to buy" messages here and at the azo forum http://www.michaelandpaula.com/mp/azoforum/default.asp

Shooter
    Multi Format
    Images